Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Antananarivo, Saturday, October 15, 2016: Eight countries presented requests to the COMESA Council of Ministers for support of their proposed candidates for top jobs at the African Union Commission during the forthcoming African Union Assembly scheduled for January 2017.

Kenya presented its Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Ambassador (Dr) Amina Mohamed for the position of Chairperson of the African Union Commission. It requested the bloc’s support in order to send a positive message to the rest of the World.

Djibouti presented the candidature of Mr. Yacin Elmi Bouh, a Plenipotentiary Ambassador and former Minister for Deputy Chairperson of the Commission. Burundi, Egypt, Sudan, Seychelles, Zambia and Zimbabwe sought support for their candidates interested on various positions of Commissioners at the continental body.

In its decision, the Council urged Member States to support Ambassador Mohamed of Kenya for the position of Chairperson and Mr. Bouh for the position of Deputy Chairperson.

The Council further urged member States to support Ambassador Epiphane Kabushemeye of Burundi (for Commissioner for Peace and Security), Dr Amani Abou-Zeid of Egypt (for Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy), Dr Fr Saidi Kibeya of Burundi (for Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology), Dr Hespina Rukato of Zimbabwe and Ambassador Rahamtalla Mohmed Osman of Sudan (for Commissioner for Political Affairs).

Others were Mona Toema El-Garf of Egypt and Ambassador Albert Muchanga of Zambia (Commissioner for Trade and Industry), Dr Jabine Ntakirutimana of Burundi and Mrs Amira El Fadil of Sudan (Commissioner for Social Affairs) Mr Antoine-Marie Moustache of Seychelles and Dr. Austin Sichinga of Zambia (Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Economy).