Country Profile

The State of Eritrea is in the Horn of Africa, with its capital called Asmara. It is bordered by Sudan in the west, Ethiopia in the south, and Djibouti in the southeast. The northeastern and eastern parts of Eritrea have an extensive coastline along the Red Sea. The nation has a total area of approximately 117,600 km2 (45,406 sq mi), and includes the Dahlak Archipelago and several of the Hanish Islands.

Head of State & Government: H.E President Isaias Afewerki
Capital City: Asmara
Independence Day: 24th May 1991
Languages: Tigrinya, Tigre, Dahlik: Italian, English, Arabic
Currency: Eritrea Nakfa

GDP: USD5.9 Billion
Area/Size: 117,600 km2
Natural Resources: copper, gold, granite, marble, and potash.
Time Zone: GMT +3
Government Website: (Ministry of Information)

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

Ministry Responsible for COMESA
The Minister
Ministry of Trade & Industry
P.O. Box 1844
State of Eritrea

National COMESA Focal Point

Mr. Abdurahman Ibrahim
Head, Africa Desk
International Trade Relations
Ministry of Trade and Industry
P.O. Box 1844
The State of Eritrea
Tel: +291 1 117103
Fax: 291 1 124175/00 291 120586