The State of Libya is located in the Maghreb region in North Africa, bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad to the south, Niger to the southwest, Algeria to the west, and Tunisia to the northwest. The sovereign state is made of three historical regions: Tripolitania, Fezzan and Cyrenaica.


Country Profile

Head of State: H.E Mr. Fayez Mustafa Al-Sarraji

Capital City: Tripoli

Independence Day: 24 December 1954

Languages: Arabic 

Currency: Libyan Dinar 

GDP$48.3 bn

Area/Size of country (km²): 1.76 million km²

Natural resources: petroleum, natural gas and gypsum

Time Zone: GMT+2

Government website link: 

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

Honourable Minister Dr Ali Abdulaziz Al-Isawi
Minister of Economy and Industry
P.O Box 4779
Fax: +218314831394
Email: Libya_Zambia

Permanent Representative to COMESA

Mr.  Farg M.O Zarroug

Charge d’Affaires a.i

Embassy of the State of Libya

4900, Los Angles Boulevard

P O Box 35319

LUSAKA, Zambia

Tel: +260(211) 253055/255388

Fax: +260(211) 251239

Mobile : 0955 208900/0977 977605

E-mail :;