Country Profile

The Republic of Uganda is located in East-Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south-west by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region. Uganda also lies within the Nile basin, and has a varied but generally a modified equatorial climate. Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country, including the capital Kampala.

Head of State: H.E. Yoweri Museveni

Capital City:
Independence Day: 9 October 1962

Area/Size of country (km²):
241,550 km²
Time Zone: GMT+3

Languages: English, Swahili, Luganda
Currency: Ugandan shilling (UGX)
GDP: USD 26.720 Billion
Natural resources: Copper, cobalt, limestone with several untapped reserves of lucrative minerals like gold, nickel, platinum, and marble

Population: 43 Million

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

Hon. Francis Mwebesa

Minister of Trade, Industry and Co-operatives

P O Box 7103

KAMPALA – Uganda

Tel: +256 772 770 718/ +256 702 770 718

Fax: +256 41 347286


National COMESA Focal Point

Mrs. Elizabeth Ritah Auma Kiguli

Acting Permanent Secretary

Ministry of Trade, Industry & Cooperatives

P.O. Box 7103

KAMPALA – Uganda

Tel: + 256 70285013

Fax: +256 41 341247


Permanent Secretary in Lusaka

His Excellency Hon. Col(Rtd) Fred Mwesigye

High Commissioner

Uganda High Commission

25 Msasane Road, Oysterbay

P.O. Box 6237

DAR ES SALAAM – Tanzania

Tel: +2556 22 266 7200



This post is also available in: العربية (Arabic) Français (French)

USA TODAY Politics Life Economics Money Sports Tech Travel All articles