

The COMESA Master's Degree Programme in Regional Integration





# 1. Introduction

- 1.1 The COMESA Master's Degree Programme in Regional Integration is a postgraduate training Programme being sponsored by Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the European Union (EU) and the Organization of Africa, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS) through the Project known as 'Enhancing COMESA Capacity in Trade Policy Analysis, Research and Training for Deeper Regional Integration and Participation in Global Economy'.
- 1.2 In August 2010, the 28th COMESA Council of Ministers meeting held in Swaziland (now Eswatini) made a decision to establish a COMESA Virtual University. On this basis, COMESA worked with universities in the region to develop a Master's Degree Programme in Regional Integration.

1.3 In October 2016, the 19th Summit of Heads of State held in Madagascar endorsed the Decision by the Council of Ministers. The Summit also approved 22 universities to participate in the programme. This means that any COMESA citizen interested in the Programme can apply to any of these universities.

## 1.4 Participating Universities include:

#	Name of University	M e m b e r State	#	Name of University	Member State
(a)	University of Burundi	Burundi	(I)	Open University of Mauritius	Mauritius
(b)	Centre for Studies and Research of Djibouti	Djibouti	(m)	University of Mauritius	Mauritius
(c)	University of Kinshasa	DRC	(n)	University of Technology	Mauritius
(d)	Cairo University	Egypt	(o)	International University of Seychelles	Seychelles
(e)	College of Business and Economics,	Eritrea	(p)	University of Khartoum	Sudan
(f)	University of Eswatini	Eswatini	(q)	Kyambogo University	Uganda
(g)	Catholic University of Eastern Africa	Kenya	(r)	Makerere University	Uganda
(h)	Kenyatta University	Kenya	(s)	Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi	Uganda
(i)	Maasai Mara University	Kenya	(t)	University of Zambia	Zambia
(j)	University of Antananarivo	Madagascar	(u)	University of Zimbabwe	Zimbabwe
(k)	University of Malawi	Malawi	(v)	University of Nairobi	Kenya

1.5 Kenyatta University is the host of the virtual University Programme. A participating university signs a Memorandum of Understanding (MoUs) with COMESA which defines the scope of the collaboration in delivering the programme.



### 2.0 Objectives and Scope of the Master's degree Programme in Regional Integration

- 2.1 The program seeks to provide a sound conceptual, policy and practical training on regional integration, but will also help extend access to research opportunities and higher education on regional integration within and outside the COMESA region.
- 2.2 It covers economics, trade, law, political economy, governance, finance, IT and innovation, amongst others.
- 2.3 It is designed to run for a duration of two years, comprising four (4) semesters, i.e 3 semesters of course work and exams, and the last semester of thesis writing/ internship at COMESA institutions.

### 3.0 Who are target groups?

3.1 It is designed for government officials working in divisions or units dealing with trade, integration and cooperation issues; students intending to work as trade officers, trade policy analyst, advisers, researchers, trade attaches; private sector trade practitioners; media practitioners specializing in business, gender, climate and trade issues;

- 3.2 Besides government ministries and departments, the programme is also targeting chambers of commerce, manufacturer and consumer associations, consulates and other diplomatic missions, development organizations dealing with trade and integration issues among others.
- 3.3 It also targets middle-level trade researchers and consultants.

#### 4.0 State of Programme Implementation as of March 2021

4.4:

- 4.1 So far seven (7) universities including: Kenyatta University, University of Mauritius, Open University of Mauritius, University of Zambia, l'Institut Supérieur de Gestion des Entreprise (ISGE) of Burundi, University of Zimbabwe, University of Malawi, have signed MoUs with COMESA on the implementation of the programme.
- Two of the Universities: Kenyatta University and the University of Mauritius have admitted the first cohort of students. The University of Zambia and the University of Malawi have also finalized arrangements to start offering the course.
- 4.3 Advertisements for admissions are placed in the respective universities' websites as well as COMESA Secretariat website.

A limited number of scholarships are available for successful applicants. Among the eligibility requirements are:

- applicants must be nationals of COMESA Member States that are also OACPS members covered under the Cotonou Agreement and must be below 35 years of age.
  4.5 The scholarship covers: tuition; internship at COMESA Secretariat and partner organizations, after the academic covers work; and access to journals and a backs, as identified by the universities and COMESA. It does not cover.
- The scholarship covers: tuition; internship at COMESA Secretariat and partner organizations, after the academic course work; and access to journals and e-books, as identified by the universities and COMESA. It does not cover accommodation, transport, food and other living and administrative costs. The amount of tuition covered under the COMESA scholarship is based on the tuition charged by each university.













