COMESA Institutions

COMESA Court of Justice (CCJ)

The Court of Justice of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA Court of Justice) was established in 1994 under Article 7 of the COMESA Treaty as one of the Organs of COMESA. The Court’s primary function is to uphold the rule of law in the enforcement of the COMESA Treaty.

COMESA Business Council (CBC)

COMESA Business Council is a Business Member Organization and recognized private sector institution of the Common Market of Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA). It is the voice of the Private Sector in the region.

COMESA Clearing House

The COMESA Clearing House is an institution of COMESA which facilitates settlement of cross border trade and services among member states.

Trade and Development Bank (TDB)

The Trade and Development Bank, formerly the PTA Bank, is a trade and development financial institution in Africa. The TDB is the financial arm of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, although membership is open to non-COMESA states and other institutional shareholders.

The Regional Regional Investment Agency (RIA)

The Regional Investment Agency (RIA), the investment promotion arm of COMESA was launched in June 2006, with a mandate to make the COMESA region a viable, attractive destination for regional and international investors.

Africa Leather and Leather Products Institute (ALLPI)

The COMESA Leather and Leather Products Institute (LLPI) promote the development of the COMESA region leather industry and the development of the leather sector in the Member States…

African Trade Insurance Agency (ATIA)

ATI is a pan-African institution that provides political risk insurance to companies, investors, and lenders interested in doing business in Africa.

COMESA Competitions Commission (CCC)

The Commission promotes and encourages competition by preventing restrictive business practices and other restrictions that deter the efficient operation of markets, thereby enhancing the welfare of the consumers in the Common Market, and protecting consumers against offensive conduct by market actors.

PTA Reinsurance Company (ZEP-RE)

ZEP-RE (PTA Reinsurance Company) underwrites life and non-life reinsurance risks in Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, India, Uganda, and Sudan. The company offers property, casualty, motor, marine, aviation, life, and medical insurance products. ZEP-RE (PTA Reinsurance Company) is headquartered in Nairobi, Kenya.

COMESA Monetary Institute (CMI)

COMESA Monetary Institute was established in 2011 in Nairobi, Kenya, in order to undertake all the preparatory work for implementing all the stages of the COMESA Monetary Cooperation Programme envisaged for 2018. The Institute is hosted by the Central Bank of Kenya and operates hand in hand with the COMESA Central Banks.

COMESA Federation of Women in Business (COMFWB

COMFWB’s main objectives were to promote programs that integrate women into the trade and development activities in Eastern and Southern Africa.

The Regional Association of Energy Regulators for Eastern and Southern Africa (RAERESA)

The Regional Association of Energy Regulators for Eastern and Southern Africa (RAERESA) is one of the specialized institutions of COMESA in the field of energy regulations, whose objectives include, among others, capacity building and information sharing, facilitation of energy supply policy, legislation and regulations.

This post is also available in: العربية (Arabic) Français (French)