The Secretariat

The Secretariat is the executive Organ of COMESA. It ensures that the regulations and directives adopted by the Council of Ministers are properly implemented, and provides the Council of Ministers with strategic recommendations.

Our Leadership

The COMESA Secretariat is headed by a Secretary-General who is appointed by the COMESA Authority to serve in such office for a term of five years and eligible for reappointment for a further term of five years. The Secretary-General is the principal executive and accounting officer for COMESA as well as the Secretary of the Summit.

Two Assistant Secretary Generals deputise and support the Secretary-General in the management and executive direction of the COMESA Secretariat. These are Assistant Secretary General – Programmes and Assistant Secretary General – Administration & Finance.  They are appointed by the COMESA Authority on recommendations of the Council of Ministers. Each Assistant Secretary General can serve a maximum of two five-year terms.

The terms and conditions of service of the Secretary-General and the Assistant Secretaries-General is determined by the Authority. The terms and conditions of service of the other staff of the Secretariat is determined by the Council.

How we work

The COMESA Secretariat is organised along 9 Divisions, each having distinct spheres of responsibility. These Divisions coordinate seamlessly as they carry out the day-to-day work of the Secretaria.

Executive Office of the Secretary-General

Legal & Corporate Affairs

  • Counsel to COMESA

Trade & Customs

  • Customs Directorate
  • Trade Directorate

Industry & Agriculture

  • Infrastructure Directorate
  • Planning and Investment Directorate

Budget & Finance Division

  • Finance Directorate

Infrastructure & Logistics

  • Infrasteructure Development

Information & Networking

  • ICT Management

Gender & Social Welfare

  • Social Sectors Directorate

Administration Divsion

  • Human Resources and Administration Directorate
  • Information Resource Centre