Country Profile

The Republic of Djibouti is located in the Horn of Africa in East Africa. It is bordered by Somalia in the south, Ethiopia in the south and west, Eritrea in the north, and the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden in the east. Across the Gulf of Aden lies Yemen. The country has a total area of 23,200 km2 (8,958 sq mi). The Republic of Djibouti is predominantly inhabited by two ethnic groups, the Somali and the Afar people, with the former comprising the majority of the population.

Head of State: H.E President Ismaïl Omar Guelleh

Head of Government : P.M Abdoulkader Kamil Mohamed Capital City: Djibouti Independence Day: June 27, 1977 Area/Size of country (km²): 23,200 km2 Time Zone: CAT (UTC+3)

Languages: Arabic (official), Afar, Somali Currency: Franc (DJF) GDP: USD1.96 Billion Government website: Natural resources: Salt, Petroleum, Gold, Clay, Marble, Pumice, Gypsum and Diatomite

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

S.E. M. Mohamed Warsama Dirieh (Minister)

Ministre du Commerce et du Tourisme


République de Djibouti

Tel: + 253 21 32 54 41

Mobile : + 253 77 71 13 41

Fax : + 253 21 35 49 09


National COMESA Focal Point

Monsieur Ali Daoud Abdou

Secrétaire général du Ministère du Commerce

Ministère du Commerce

BP 24


République de Djibouti

Tél : +253 77851345 /+253 21 32 54 51/ +25321 35 51 77

Fax : +253 21 35 4909

Courriel :

Permanent Representative

H.E Yacin Elmi Bouh,

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Djibouti in Zambia with residence in Nairobi

International House, 2nd floor, Mama Ngina street.

Tel: +254 20 212 2859 /+254 73 180 8042/ (+254) 73 180 8044


This post is also available in: العربية (Arabic) Français (French)

USA TODAY Politics Life Economics Money Sports Tech Travel All articles