Country Profile

The Republic of Kenya is located in East Africa and bordered by South Sudan to the northwest, Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the east, Uganda to the west, Tanzania to the south, and the Indian Ocean to the southeast. At 580,367 square kilometres (224,081 sq mi), Kenya is the world’s 48th largest country by total area.It encompasses savannah, lakelands, the dramatic Great Rift Valley and mountain highlands. It’s also home to wildlife like lions, elephants and rhinos. From Nairobi, the capital, safaris visit the Maasai Mara Reserve, known for its annual wildebeest migrations, and Amboseli National Park, offering views of Tanzania’s 5,895m Mt. Kilimanjaro. Its first capital is the coastal city of Mombasa. Kisumu City is the third largest city and also an inland port on Lake Victoria.

Head of State: H.E Uhuru Kenyatta
Capital City: Nairobi
Independence Day: December 12, 1963
Languages: English and Swahili. Other regional tribes are Kikuyu, Luhya, Luo, Meru, Kalenjin and Kamba
GDP: 87.9 Billion

Currency: Kenya Shillings
Area/Size of country (km²): 580,367 km²
Natural resources: limestone, soda ash, salt, gemstones, fluorspar, zinc, diatomite, oil, gas, gypsum, wildlife and hydropower
Time Zone: (GMT+3)

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

Honourable Betty Maina, CBS
Cabinet Secretary
Ministry of Industrialization, Trade & Enterprise Development
Social Security House, BLOCK ‘A’
P.O. BOX 30547-00100
Kenyatta Avenue
Tel 00 254-20-2731531/2-44
Fax 00-254-20-
E-mail : E-mail :

Permanent Representative in Lusaka

Ambassador johnson Weru
Principal Secretary
State Department for Trade
Ministry of Industry, Trade and
P.O. Box 30430-00100
Tel: +254 20 310983, 315008
Fax: +254 20 3313600