Madagascar is an island situated 400 km off the east coast of Africa, separated from the mainland by the Mozambique Channel. It is the fourth largest island in the world, stretching 1,580 km from north to south and 600 km from east to west, with a coastline of about 5,000 km. There are six main provinces namely, Antananarivo, Antsiranana, Fianarantsoa, Mahajanga, Toamasina, and Toliary. Antananarivo is both the administrative and commercial capital of the country;. Madagascar is a key producer of fish, contributing sales of crabs, prawns, mussels and other seafood to the economy.

Country Profile

Head of State: H. E. RAJOELINA Andry Nirina

Head of Government: NTSAY Christian

Capital City: Antananarivo

Independence Day: 26 June 1960

Official Languages: Malagasy and French

Currency: Malagasy ariary (MGA ) 1 MG = 100 centime

Area/Size of country (km²): 587,295

Population: 27.6 million

Natural resources: Graphite, chromite, coal, bauxite, rare earth elements, salt, quartz, oil sands, semiprecious stones, mica, fish, hydropower

Government website link:

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

Dr. Tehindrazanarivelo Djacoba A.S. Oliva

Ministre d’État des

Affaires étrangères

Ministère des Affaires


BP 836

Rue Andriamifidy, Anosy


République de Madagascar

Fax : +261 202234484

Tél: +261 34 37 847 43

Courriel : 

Permanent Representative To COMESA


Monsieur Tahirimiakadaza Ratsimandao

Secrétaire général

Ministère des

1, rue
Andriamifidy, Anosy



Tél : +261 34 49
555 89 / +261 34 66 635 44

Courriel :;

Focal Point

Mme.  Harimbolamalala ANDRIANANTOANDRO

Chef du Service COMESA-Tripartite

Direction de l’Intégration régionale

Ministère des Affaires Etrangères

Tel. : +261 34 39 388 95