Quick facts about COMESA

Member States 21 African States
Size 11.8 million square kilometres
Population  560 million
Combined GDP $768 billion
headquarters Lusaka, Zambia
Official languages English, French and Arabic
The largest regional economic community in Africa
An international inter-governmental organization established through a treaty by governments of the Member States (MS)
Gets finances from contributions by MS and international donors
Employs staff from only the Member States based on quota system
It has specialized institutions based in other MS
USA TODAY Politics Life Economics Money Sports Tech Travel All articles