The Republic of Seychelles is an archipelago of 155 islands situated in the Indian Ocean, southeast of mainland Eastern Africa. With a territory of 177 square miles and a population of 92,000, the Seychelles is the smallest African country. Seychelles gained independence from the British in 1976 and has now evolved into a presidential republic. Seychelles’ economy heavily depends on tourism and the fishing/tuna exportation, and boasts the highest nominal per capita GDP in Africa. It has a high Human Development Index.

Country Profile

Head of State H.E. Danny Faure
Capital City Victoria
Independence Day 29 June 1976
Official Languages Seychellois Creole, English, French
Currency Seychellois Rupee (SCR) ( 1 Rs = 100 cents)
Area/Size of country (km²) 455

GDP: USD 1.59 Billion

Time Zone: GMT+4
Natural resources fish (mostly tuna), cinnamon, copra
Government website link

Ministry Responsible for COMESA Affairs

Honourable Vincent Meriton

Minister of Foreign Affairs

State House

P O Box: 55

Victoria, Mahé, Seychelles

Tel: [+248] 429 56 56

Fax: [+248] 432 42 48

Private Fax : [+248] 422 40 81


Permanent Representative to COMESA

Ambassador Marie-Antoinette Rose Quatre

High Commission of the Republic of Seychelles, Delmondo Office Park, Block C, Positano, Ground Floor, 169 Garsfontein Road, Ashlea Gardens, Pretoria,

Republic of South Africa

+ 27 123 480 270 / +27 123 464 68

Focal Point

Ambassador Barry Faure
COMESA National Contact Point
Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and the Blue Economy
Department of Foreign Affairs Seychelles
Tel: +248 428 36 07
Fax: +248 432 57 23