The Republic of Seychelles

The cosmopolitan Seychellois are a colourful and harmonious blend of different races, which stem from African, European and Asian roots all of whom have brought something of their own customs and way of life to the islands. The result is a charming Creole culture enriched from the melting pot of many continents.

There are three official languages – English, French and Creole. Creole is spoken by everyone and is an adaptation of 17th Century French with additional words and expressions coming from African languages and from Madagascar. It has been elevated to national language status, earning the same respect as English and French. Today Creole is a written as well as a spoken language, which has resulted in an outburst of creativity in plays, poetry and prose.

The population of Seychelles stands at 87,000 of which 78,000 live on Mahe, in particular around the capital Victoria, some 7,000 on Praslin and the remainder on La Digue and scattered among the rest of the islands.
Roman Catholiscism is the dominant religion, but there are also Anglican and Protestant churches together with smaller Muslim, Hindu and Baha’i communities based on Mahe, Praslin and La Digue.

Country Profile

Titles Information
Head of State H.E. Danny Faure
Head of Government ( if applicable)
Capital City Victoria
Independence Day 29 June 1976
Official Languages French, English,Seychellois Creole (Kreol)
Currency Seychellois Rupee (SCR) ( 1 Rs = 100 cents)
Area/Size of country (km²) 455
Natural resources fish (mostly tuna), cinnamon, copra
Government website link
Statistical indicators